Social Media Museum

The history of social media

Talkomatic, TERM & PLATO

Talkomatic, TERM & PLATO

  • Talkomatic is being developed by Dave Woolley and Douglas Brown at the University of Illinois as a multi-user chatroom application. It is an instant sensation among users of the PLATO system's online community.
  • TERM-Talk is developed by the staff of the Computer-based Education Research Laboratory at the University of Illinois as an instant messaging application that allows any two users of the PLATO system to have a live conversation, typing character by character on the bottom of the screen of their PLATO terminals. Soon many features were added, including "monitor mode", which allowed one user in the TERM conversation to share their own screen with the other user to ask questions or point out something they were seeing. Years later, this concept would be introduced as "screen sharing" or remote desktop software.
  • PLATO Notes is developed by 17-year-old student Dave Woolley at the Computer-based Education Research Laboratory at the University of Illinois as a conference and bulletin board forum system for communicating with the user community. In 1976, Notes was expanded to allow any user to create a "note file" on any topic. PLATO Notes was to serve as the inspiration for Lotus Notes, which was developed by former PLATO users Ray Ozzie, Len Kawell and Tim Halvorsen.

April 11, 1973

Talkomatic, TERM & PLATO

  • Talkomatic wird von Dave Woolley und Douglas Brown an der Universität von Illinois als Multi-User-Chatroom-Anwendung entwickelt. Es ist eine sofortige Sensation unter den Benutzern der Online-Community des PLATO-Systems.
  • TERM-Talk wird von den Mitarbeitern des Computer-based Education Research Laboratory an der University of Illinois als Instant-Messaging-Anwendung entwickelt, mit der zwei beliebige Benutzer des PLATO-Systems eine Live-Konversation führen können, bei der Zeichen für Zeichen auf dem unteren Rand des Bildschirms ihrer PLATO-Terminals eingegeben werden. Bald wurden viele Funktionen hinzugefügt, darunter der „Monitor-Modus“, der es einem Benutzer im TERM-Gespräch ermöglichte, seinen eigenen Bildschirm für den anderen Benutzer freizugeben, um Fragen zu stellen oder auf etwas hinzuweisen, das er gerade sieht. Jahre später soll dieses Konzept als „Screen Sharing“ oder Remote Desktop Software eingeführt werden.
  • PLATO Notes wird von dem 17-jährigen Schüler Dave Woolley am Computer-based Education Research Laboratory an der University of Illinois als Konferenz- und Bulletin-Board-Forumsystem für die Kommunikation mit der Benutzergemeinschaft entwickelt. Im Jahr 1976 wurde Notes erweitert, um jedem Benutzer die Möglichkeit zu geben, eine „Notizdatei“ zu einem beliebigen Thema zu erstellen. PLATO Notes sollte als Inspiration für Lotus Notes dienen, das von den ehemaligen PLATO-Benutzern Ray Ozzie, Len Kawell und Tim Halvorsen entwickelt wurde.